Book Recommendation & Annual Meeting Date

Before I give you my latest book recommendation, I wanted to let you know that the Annual WARBC Conference has a new date: October 23 & 24. The meeting will be in Wisconsin Rapids with the theme of Mining the Minor Prophets. More details are forthcoming, but be sure to mark your calendars now!


Book Recommendation:


Carl Trueman wrote The Rise and Triumph of the Modern Self in 2020. The subtile of the book highlights the main topics of the book: Cultural Amnesia, Expressive Individualism, and the Road to Sexual Revolution. The history that Trueman traces in his book is crucial for Christians to know and understand. But the book is long (434 pages) and dense. It’s worth the work, but not everyone has the time (or energy) to put into it mining the gold on the pages.


Someone wisely asked Dr. Trueman to write a more concise, easier-to-digest version of The Rise and Triumph of the Modern Self. And he did!


This year, Crossway published Strange New World by Trueman, and at just under 200 pages, it will not take too long to read. Here is a summary taken from Amazon.com:


How did the world arrive at its current, disorienting state of identity politics, and how should the church respond? Historian Carl R. Trueman shows how influences ranging from traditional institutions to technology and pornography moved modern culture toward an era of “expressive individualism.” Investigating philosophies from the Romantics, Nietzsche, Marx, Wilde, Freud, and the New Left, he outlines the history of Western thought to the distinctly sexual direction of present-day identity politics and explains the modern implications of these ideas on religion, free speech, and personal identity.

For fans of Trueman’s The Rise and Triumph of the Modern Self, this book offers a more concise presentation and application of some of the most critical topics of our day.


I recommend both books.


Also, if you want to hear Dr. Trueman interviewed about his original work, you can watch this video.


Have you read either book? Let us know your thoughts about the book(s) in the comment section!



29 views2 comments